Mary is a St. Mary senior, and a longtime customer and prolific reader. Come meet her and pick her brain about young adult novels, true crime books, and mysteries.

Becoming Cover Image
ISBN: 9781524763138
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Crown - November 13th, 2018

Becoming is a book about hardship, love, courage, and the reality of being the wife of a go-getter husband, Barack Obama. I listened to the audiobook, narrated by Michelle Obama, and that is the best way to read the book, you can hear the passion and real emotions coming from Michelle’s voice. I learned a lot about the Obama family, and I realized how similar I could be to her and her family. There is the true grit displayed by Michelle and Barack Obama throughout his political campaign of being the first-ever black president, with the weight of representing the black community on their shoulders. Michelle brings light to the difficulty that is being in the spotlight of the media at all times; she shows that she isn’t better than anyone else; she is just a human being becoming the best version of herself.

The Orphan Collector: A Heroic Novel of Survival During the 1918 Influenza Pandemic Cover Image
ISBN: 9781496715869
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Kensington - August 4th, 2020

1918, the Spanish flu has arrived and wiped out thousands of lives in a short period. Pia Lang lives with her mother and twin infant brothers; they are treated unfairly due to their German nationality, people avoid them and blame them for their problems in the world. With their food running low at home, Pia must venture out looking for food with the little money she has, leaving her infant twin brothers all alone.


Bernice Groves is mourning the loss of her infant son, if the doctors would stop caring for the immigrants, maybe her son would’ve lived… What extent will Bernice and Pia go for their difficulties? 

This book is timely for the circumstances... The Orphan Collector is now my favorite historical fiction of all time! Well-written and it was hard for me to put it down! 

Hot Dog Girl Cover Image
ISBN: 9780525516255
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - April 30th, 2019

With summer coming to a close I thought this was the perfect summertime book to finish off my summer! A fun and light Y.A. that I flew through. 

Elouise (Lou) Parker is set on making her summer before the senior year the best one yet, but some obstacles get in the way. 

Lou is the dancing hot dog at the local amusement park yet again; she has a crush like never before on the diving pirate, Nick, who’s girlfriend is the literal princess of the park. Lou’s best friend, Seely, ends up not wanting to be involved with her scheming of winning over the pirate of Lou’s dreams, and to top it all off, the amusement park is closing! 

I enjoyed how the book has more representation involving a girl/girl relationship. I did get a bit annoyed with Lou’s personality because she is the “my way or the highway” type of gal, but I realized that the author put this in to show how much Lou changes and learns from her mistakes throughout the book. I admire how an author will use these tools to get the reader more invested in the characters and start to care for them. 

If anyone is in a reading slump and needs an easy and funny read to fix that, I recommend this contemporary! 

The Word Is Murder: A Novel Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062676801
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Harper Perennial - May 7th, 2019

Diana Cowper walks to a funeral parlor at 11 a.m. to plan her funeral, a few hours later she is found dead in her home. 


Daniel Hawthorn, the former detective, is called in to solve the murder with Anthony, a reluctant writer who is writing a book about this murder for Hawthorn. 


I loved how Anthony Horowitz put himself in his book as a character; at times, you would think this happened with all of the detail! I loved every second of this book, and I was always guessing and thinking about all of the clues, wanting to solve it myself- lots of twists and turns throughout the book. The question is, who killed Diana Cowper?

Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man Cover Image
ISBN: 9781982141462
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Simon & Schuster - July 14th, 2020

When I first saw this book, I was hesitant to read it at first because I didn’t think I’d learn anything new about Donald J. Trump, but boy was I wrong. This book brings accounts from Mary L. Trump’s childhood and being the eyewitness of unfair treatment to her father, Fred Trump Jr., and her mother. Mary L. Trump is a clinical psychologist and gives the psychological profile of Trump, where it fills in the blanks to me. It is very striking how no one in the Trump family attempts to debate the facts in the book, and I understand how they were trying to block this book from being printed. A definite recommendation to anyone interested in learning about Donald J. Trump from a psychological aspect.