Katie

Katie is the queen of the backroom where all of the books get received, and she also works on the floor handselling to all ages.  She loves biographies, non-fiction of any stripe and lots of general fiction.  She's got two active boys, so she reads her share of kid books, too.  Come say hi!

Staff Pick Badge
Everything I Never Told You: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143127550
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2015

Lydia is the favorite child of James and Marilyn Lee.  When she is found dead, the family must cope the best they know how and soon realize that Lydia was the glue that had been holding them together.

From the very first sentence, I was hooked on this wonderful book, and didn’t put it down until I was finished.

This story about love, loss, expectations, and family secrets is beautiful and heartbreaking and absolutely one of my favorites. 


Staff Pick Badge
Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735219106
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 30th, 2021

This is the beautifully written story of Kya Clark, a young woman abandoned by her family at a young age in the marshes of North Carolina. Kya must quickly learn how to survive on her own from the world around her.

With a little mystery, a little love story, a beautiful setting, and a lot of overcoming incredible odds, Where The Crawdads Sing is not to be missed!

 


Dear Edward: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984854803
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - February 2nd, 2021

12-year-old Eddie is aboard a flight from New Jersey to Los Angeles with his mother, father, and brother when it crashes, killing everyone on board except for Eddie.

Months later, Eddie – who now goes by Edward- must come to terms with the loss of his entire family and find his new normal under the care of his aunt and uncle.

Flipping back and forth between scenes from the plane before the crash, to Edwards current life, we get a glimpse into the lives of some of the passengers on the ill-fated flight, and how Edward changes in the years after losing everything.

This is an uplifting and hopeful coming of age story about Edward, and about how the human spirit carries on in the face of unspeakable tragedy.


F*ck You Haiku: Little Breakup Poems to Help You Vent, Heal, and Move On Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781982157975
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Tiller Press - January 26th, 2021

Every time I walked by this little book on the display -drawn in by the great title-  I couldn't help but pick it up and read a Haiku or two.

 After the author was unexpectedly delivered divorce papers from her husband of twelve years, she begain writing these short poems as a balm to her soul.

I laughed at many and cried because of a few.   

Even if you don't currently have a broken heart, this little book will make you think about love and the loss of relationships in a whole new (poetic) way.

 


A Crooked Tree: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063049840
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Harper - January 5th, 2021

In this debut novel from Una Mannion, 12-year-old Ellen is turned out of the family car by her overwhelmed mother and forced to walk home.

No one in the family could possibly know how that one action would affect the entire family for years to come. 

This is a story of family secrets, friendship, and resilience that I could not put down.

 


Yellow Wife: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982149109
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 12th, 2021

Yellow Wife follows the life of Pheby Delores Brown. Born on a plantation in Charles City, Virginia and the daughter of the esteemed medicine woman of the estate, she lived a sheltered life, favored by the master of the plantation.  

The master promises to give her freedom at 18 and send her to school away from the plantation.

Due to circumstances beyond her control, Pheby finds herself torn away form the safety of her home and away from her true love, Essex Henry.

She ends up at the Devils Half Acre, which is a prison for slaves and hell on earth for all who get sent there.

When the Jailer takes a liking to her, she becomes the Mistress of the jail.  Even though she is treated better than the slaves that reside there, she knows the jailer sees her only as property.

This book was inspired by Mary Lumpkin and Lumpkin’s Jail in Richmond, Virginia.

The lives of slaves were full of atrocities and it seems unimaginable how they survived both physically and emotionally. This is a difficult novel to read but should not be missed.  

 


Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

Piranesi is a young man who lives in an infinite palace, made up of a series of long halls and interconnecting rooms. Each room is full of marble statues and all are different in subject and size.  The lower levels of the palace descend under water and the upper levels are filled with clouds. The tide comes in and out, flooding some levels permanently but leaving others filled with broken statues, seaweed and trash.

Piranesi sees nothing unusual about his existance. He spends his days investigating his environment, mapping the house, tracking the tides, and filling his journals with everything he learns.

He believes that only fifteen people have ever been alive in the world.  Thirteen of them are now skeletons he found among the rooms, he is fourteen, and the fifteenth is a man he calls "the other."

Piranesi meets the other once a week to help the man on his quest for great and secret knowledge that the other believes will give him powers. 

I won't say more, because this is one of those stories that is best enjoyed when you don't know too much going in.

Give it a read. You'll be glad you did.

 

 


Dearly: New Poems Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063032491
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Ecco - November 10th, 2020

Dearly was the perfect book to read to transition from the end of last year into this new year. 

These poems focus on loss, the passage of time, love, nature, and even some topics I did not expect but was delighted to find within the pages.

It is safe to say that I will read anything and everything written by Margaret Atwood and if you like her writing, I highly recommend that you read this one too.

 

 


The Grace Year: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250145451
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Wednesday Books - October 27th, 2020

No one must speak about The Grace Year.

In Garner County girls are banished to a remote island the year they turn 16, sent away to rid themselves of their dangerous “magic.”  “Magic” that can lure men from their beds and cause the men to do things beyond their control.  Once purified they will return to their village and be ready for marriage.  But not all the girls will make it home alive.

When 16-year-old Tierney is sent on her grace year, she realizes that the greatest threat to survival may not be the animals in the woods or the poachers waiting for them to stray from the safety of their camp, but may actually be each other.

Once I started this one - which felt like The Handmaid’s Tale meets the Hunger Games - I could not put it down. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Beast and the Bethany Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534478893
Availability: May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.
Published: Aladdin - December 8th, 2020

Ebenezer Tweezer is a rotten man who keeps a terrible beast on the 15th floor of his house.

The beast keeps Ebenezer young, and in return, Ebenezer must provide the beast with anything it wishes to eat. But the beast has grown spoiled and greedy and it requests something he's never eaten before: a child.

Ebenezer goes to the local orphanage and finds Bethany, a perfectly ghastly child, and thinks he has found the perfect meal for the beast.

But as Ebenezer and Betheny get to know each other, Ebenezer realizes that Bethany might make a better friend than food...

This intermediate book is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket.