Amy

Amy works as our events coordinator and lots more.  She's great with the kids' books and enjoys historical fiction and mysteries. Come say 'hi' - soon you'll feel like old friends. 

More Miracle Than Bird Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781947793767
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Tin House Books - June 2nd, 2020

This is a book that is set during World War 1 and is about the courtship of William Butler Yeats and Georgie, his first and only wife. It is also a book about secret societies, and forgotten women of history.

 

Georgiana has moved to London and taken a job as a nurse's aide in order to escape her overbearing mother.  In a time where women without independent means have few life choices, Georgiana is looking for a way to achieve a level of independence. She is attracted to Yeats and feels that he reciprocates her feelings, yet she is confused when he does not propose marriage and instead seems to pursue other women. They share an interest in the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn, a secret society devoted to the occult, as well as poetry and writing. 

 

This is an excellently plotted and written portrayal of the woman who greatly influenced the later writings of Yeats. Georgiana Hyde-Lees does not come off as simply the woman behind the man, but a fascinating and deeply nuanced character herself.

 

 This is a well-researched and interesting tale.


The Silent Patient Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250301697
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Celadon Books - February 5th, 2019

Alicia Berenson is a well-known painter who loves her husband more than anything else. One evening, shots are heard and the police arrive and find Alicia standing over his body with a smoking gun, his arms and legs wired to a chair. She does not offer one word of explanation, and from that moment on, she refuses to speak. She maintains her silence during her arrest and trial. They find her less than competent and instead of prison, she goes to The Grose, which is a secure psychiatric hospital. 

A psychotherapist named Theo Faber is obsessed with her case, and accepts a position at the Grove simply to try to uncover her motive for the crime. He is an emotionally fragile protagonist that has personal and professional problems of his own, which he lays out in the first person narrative and alternates with excerpts from Alicia’s diary. 

A gruesome murder, a woman held captive in her own mind, and a therapist determined to unlock her secrets - what’s not to love about The Silent Patient.

You will be talking about this book months after you read it. 


The Haunting of Hill House Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Laura Miller (Introduction by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143039983
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Penguin Classics - November 28th, 2006

A crumbling old estate that is the main character, people that reside under its roof who are helpless to fight against the property’s evil energy, an occult scholar, two assistants, and the future heir of Hill House all play a part in this classic, supernatural thriller. 

 

They are all intent on studying the malicious energies within the house, but unaware that the house has plans to claim one of them. There are creepy caretakers who leave the house each night, sudden chills, strange smells, rickety staircases, screams, and walls that become mysteriously spattered with blood. While they think they have autonomy over whether they stay or leave, you can set off down the driveway, but you won’t actually be leaving the property...

 

Enjoy this spooky thriller!


The Captive Kingdom (The Ascendance Series, Book 4) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338551082
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Scholastic Press - October 6th, 2020

This is book 4, and the final book of the Ascendance Series.

 

You will be swept right back up into this series. After a brutal attack at sea, Jaron is pulled back into a fight for the throne, and a battle to save his kingdom. Jaron appears to be bold and full of bluster, he is cocky and appears reckless. However, there is a humility beneath the surface that makes him endearing.

 

Tension and mystery are created in this 4th book. If you are new to this series, you can read book 4 alone, but I would recommend the entire False Prince series. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Sun Down Motel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780440000204
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Berkley - October 20th, 2020

You know those rundown motels that you pass on road trips, the motels where you can park right at the door to your room? The ones with the buzzing signs that blink vacancy and cable TV? The really creepy ones? Welcome to the Sun Down Motel,  located in Fell, a small town in upstate, NY. 

 

Viv Delaney was just passing through in 1982. Running out of money before she could reach New York City, with dreams of becoming an actress, she takes a job as the night clerk at The Sun Down. Something isn’t right at the motel, but Viv is compelled to investigate...and then she disappears...

 

In 2017, Viv's niece Carly is drawn to Fell, NY after her mother's death.

She wants to find out what happened to Vivian and ends up following in her Aunt's footsteps.

She too takes a job at The Sun Down as a night clerk, some things never change..

 

With a badass heroine, dual timelines, ghosts, one of the creepiest atmospheres, and layers of backstory that build and build. This book is rich with chills and suspense. It is one of my favorites.


Hush: A Novel (The Hush Series #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250235909
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Wednesday Books - October 6th, 2020

This story is set in the dystopian land of Montane, where 17-year-old Shae and her mother have been ostracized by their town after Shae’s beloved younger brother, Kieran, dies of a plague called the Blot. Montane is ruled by the Bards, who have harnessed the power of words through their Tellings to rein in the deadly disease spread by ink.

In the beginning, Shae is yearning to be a good girl and follow the rules, but then she fears that she has been infected, and when the Bards come to town, she gathers the courage to ask for a cure. 

Wracked by self-doubt but with a heart set on justice, Shae is invited by the High Lord to learn the gift of Telling herself. After undergoing grueling training, she learns how to harness her own magical powers and sets out to restore justice to her ruined land.

This is a young adult novel that is a fun read for all ages.


Leave the World Behind: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062667632
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Ecco - October 6th, 2020

When Amanda and Clay, a white couple with two teenage children rent a nice vacation home in upstate New york, the last thing they expect is a sixty-something black couple to arrive on the doorstep in the middle of the night claiming to own the home. They have fled a blackout in the city and are wondering if they could possibly stay the night. 

 

As strange sonic booms shatter the peace of the countryside, and animals start to migrate in strange ways, the physical and mental health of the families begins to disintegrate. 

 

The resulting clash of families, races, and fears amounts to a thrilling postapocalyptic novel. Though the action never really leaves that one vacation home, Leave the World Behind is nonetheless an unsettling portrait of a whole world in crisis. 


To Tell You the Truth: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062875587
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: William Morrow - September 22nd, 2020

Lucy Harper has a talent for writing bestselling novels that star Detective Sergeant Eliza Grey. Her books are a runaway success. Just after completing her latest novel, Lucy awaits to hear the reactions of her agent and publisher. She is reluctant to tell her husband Dan about her book, because his writing career has gone nowhere, and he is needy and jealous. With all of this tension between them, Lucy is not overly worried when Dan storms out after an argument. 

When a detective shows up on Lucy’s doorstep, she is afraid her past is about to collide with her present. Although most of the story takes place in the present, Lucy’s past comes back to haunt her. When she was nine years old, Lucy takes her three year old brother Teddy with her into the woods late one night. Her attention strays, and he vanishes. To this day, Lucy has no idea what happened to him. She has worked hard to put this tragedy behind her, but remains haunted by his disappearance. With her husband missing, she is afraid she will be a suspect because of her unresolved past.

Where is Dan? What happened to Lucy’s brother? And is the brilliant mystery writer, an expert in devising red herrings and hidden clues, revealing all she knows about both disappearances?

The story is so cleverly constructed that the reader will be asking themselves: Is Lucy an unreliable narrator, or is her apparent paranoia well-founded? Is she a consummate liar or just an inventive story teller? Is she a murderer, or is she a victim? 

 

This is a riveting mystery you will not want to put down.


The Orphan of Cemetery Hill Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781525804571
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Graydon House - September 15th, 2020

Tabby is a dangerous but special woman that can communicate with recently deceased people. She had been orphaned and had been living with her aunt Bellafonte but had to flee with Alice,  her sister. Now a young woman, she works with her adopted father, who is the caretaker for a large cemetery. 

When grave robberies begin to plague the city, Tabby is sucked into their deadly plot. 

 

Set in 1844 Boston, this is an atmospheric, historical, gothic tale that is perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Deanna Raybourn.


Staff Pick Badge
Magpie Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062645234
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Harper Perennial - March 27th, 2018

Magpie Murders presents a murder mystery inside a murder mystery. It is a brilliant, riveting thriller that weaves a classic whodunit worthy of Agatha Christie into a chilling, ingeniously original modern-day mystery.

 

Masterful, clever, and relentlessly suspenseful, the story is a deviously dark take on vintage English crime fiction in which the reader becomes the detective. 

 

You will not want to put it down.