Amy

Amy works as our events coordinator and lots more.  She's great with the kids' books and enjoys historical fiction and mysteries. Come say 'hi' - soon you'll feel like old friends. 

The Orphan of Cemetery Hill Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781525804571
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Graydon House - September 15th, 2020

Tabby is a dangerous but special woman that can communicate with recently deceased people. She had been orphaned and had been living with her aunt Bellafonte but had to flee with Alice,  her sister. Now a young woman, she works with her adopted father, who is the caretaker for a large cemetery. 

When grave robberies begin to plague the city, Tabby is sucked into their deadly plot. 

 

Set in 1844 Boston, this is an atmospheric, historical, gothic tale that is perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Deanna Raybourn.


Staff Pick Badge
Magpie Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062645234
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Harper Perennial - March 27th, 2018

Magpie Murders presents a murder mystery inside a murder mystery. It is a brilliant, riveting thriller that weaves a classic whodunit worthy of Agatha Christie into a chilling, ingeniously original modern-day mystery.

 

Masterful, clever, and relentlessly suspenseful, the story is a deviously dark take on vintage English crime fiction in which the reader becomes the detective. 

 

You will not want to put it down.


Staff Pick Badge
The Immortalists Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735215092
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 5th, 2019

Have you ever wondered how you would live the rest of your life if you knew the date of when you were going to die? How would it affect you? How would you change?

The story follows 4 siblings in New York City who learn of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. Simon, Klara, Daniel and Varya Gold set off to find her and see if she will tell them their fortune. 

 

They are told the date they each will die, which can be a curse and a gift.  The question is, will they die on the augured date because it is their destiny, or because the prediction draws them into an altered pattern of life choices?

 

I found this to be a touching story of the lives of these four children growing up and how different, yet the same we all are. It was heartfelt, powerful, and thought provoking.


Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593098400
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Berkley - February 4th, 2020

Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes follows the story of a couple of teachers, a fiercely determined parent, and a few students at a prestigious high school. There is much drama that follows the awful event of a mother injuring a student that was caught on video, and the social media circus it causes.

This is definitely a timely read. It is a thought-provoking story that deals with issues like teaching, parenting, rumors, social media, relationships, and more. It is a story of courage, strength, and motherhood. All in all, a humorous, intriguing, and clever debut novel. 

 It was a really enjoyable read and I hope you’ll give it a try.


The Last Flight Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781728215723
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - June 23rd, 2020

I love a suspenseful novel, and this one, centered around two women attempting to escape their circumstances, is a great one. 

Claire Cook, married for 10 years to her charming, famous, abusive philanthropist husband, has concocted a seriously intricate plan to escape from him. When everything goes haywire, she has a chance encounter at JFK with Eva. The two women swap flights, and when the flight Claire was supposed to be on crashes with no survivors, the story begins to unfold.

 

The Last Flight is a suspenseful, timely tale about smart, strong women who support one another in their determination to not just survive, but also thrive, uncertainty and risk be damned.


The Alchemist Cover Image
By Paulo Coelho, Alan R. Clarke (Translator)
This is a non-traditional title. Please email or call us for price.
ISBN: 9780061122415
Availability: Special Order, We Will Need to Check Availablility
Published: HarperOne - April 25th, 2006

This powerful and inspiring fictional story is about the journey of a young shepherd boy named Santiago from the south of Spain who has a recurring dream about finding a treasure. Believing that finding this treasure is his ‘destiny’ he leaves the comfort of home and travels into the African desert to find it.

 

The Alchemist is one of those books that leave you motivated and inspired to get started or keep moving forward.  The storytelling was beautiful, but more importantly, there were so many lessons that the author shared that would be relevant to anyone’s life. Enjoy.


The Book of Lost Names Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982131890
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Gallery Books - July 21st, 2020

The Book of Lost Names is a beautifully written, touching tale set in France during WWII, as well as present day. You will be taken into the life of Eva Traube, a young Jewish woman who spent the majority of the war, to the detriment of herself and those she loved, using her artistic talents to help save as many lives as possible. 

 

This is a thought-provoking, immersive, moving tale that reminds us that millions of lives were lost, numerous aliases were given, but real names and true identities should never be forgotten.


Their Eyes Were Watching God Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780061120060
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Amistad - May 30th, 2006

This 1937 novel is considered a classic of the Harlem Renaissance of the 1920s, and it is likely Zora Neale Hurston's best known work.

 

Set in Florida, the novel begins with Janie Crawford sharing her life story with her friend Pheoby.  We are taken back to her youth, and an event that triggers her grandmother’s insistence that she marry for protection. You can feel Janie’s frustration toward her controlling grandmother, and her desire that Janie will have a better life and be taken care of. 

 

Through three marriages and many instances of physical abuse, Janie remains fierce and unapologetic. It was a terrible time in America for a black woman to find freedom and independence, but Janie pursues it nevertheless. 

Janie's indistinguishable spirit is captivating.

 

Everyone in Janie's life wants and expects something from her. Her grandmother  wants her to marry for protection, white men want to keep her down, darker-skinned African-Americans feel she should emphasize her lighter skin, each of her husbands wants her to behave and dress in a way that suits them. Janie remains wholly herself, and her indistinguishable spirit is captivating.


Staff Pick Badge
Park Avenue Summer Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101991145
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Berkley - April 30th, 2019

New York City is filled with opportunities for single girls like Alice Weiss. After she leaves her small Midwestern town, she chases her big city dreams, and unexpectedly lands the job of a lifetime working for Helen Gurley Brown. Helen is the first female Editor-in-Chief of a then failing Cosmopolitan Magazine.

Nothing could have prepared Alice for the world she would. 

I was captivated by the story of Alice Weiss and Helen Gurley Brown. With a blend of historical fiction built around historical fact, Renee Rosen crafted a compelling story. 

 

This is an incredible novel!


Don't Turn Around: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062874863
Availability: In stock in our warehouse.
Published: Harper - June 16th, 2020

This is the harrowing story of two women on the road for a mysterious trip in the middle of the night, only to be followed by someone that is after one of them. It  starts off strong and keeps on going. The two women each have their own secrets and situations that they have to deal with.  By the end of the novel, you may or may not root for one or both of these characters. 

This meticulously plotted thriller manages to be just as chilling during the quiet moments as it does the more action-filled ones. It’s a thrill ride you won’t want to get off.