Get Gritty and Get Writing Workshop with Kristina Riggle

Our Media Mail Shipping is Just $1.99 - One Book or One Hundred!

Event date: 

Friday, April 22, 2016 - 6:00pm to Saturday, April 23, 2016 - 4:00pm

Event address: 

133 W Main St
Gaylord, MI 49735

 

        

Friday, April 22nd, 6:00 pm- 9:00 pm

and

Saturday, April 23, 10:00 am- 4:00 pm

 


Get Gritty and Get Writing: Practical tips and tools for the writer’s craft and the writer’s life.

 

Kristina Riggle, author of five published novels and another on the way, will spend this two-day workshop helping writers of varying levels – beginner and beyond – learn how to power through obstacles and push their work from “good enough” to great.

Curriculum will include sessions on writing vivid characters, ratcheting up conflict and stakes in your plot, and the use of setting as more than just backdrop. As well, Kristina will discuss practical and realistic ways to stay motivated in the face of rejection, interruption, writer’s block, and drained creativity.

 

Participants should come prepared to write fresh work in response to prompts, or use the time allowed to improve and edit existing work.

Kristina will also discuss her own path to publication, and answer questions about navigating the mysterious and sometimes messy publishing industry.

 

 

Michigander Kristina Riggle is the author of five novels, including Real Life & Liars, a Target “Breakout” pick and a “Great Lakes, Great Reads” selection of the Great Lakes Independent Booksellers Association. The Life You’ve Imagined was lauded as an IndieNext “Notable” pick by independent booksellers. Her latest book, The Whole Golden World, was described by Bookreporter.com as "a riveting and thought-provoking page-turner that will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian."

 

Her new novel, to be published this fall by Polis Books, is Vivian in Red, about a famous Broadway songwriter and the clouded history behind his most famous song, and the woman who inspired it.

 

 

Your $150.00 ticket includes snacks Friday night and lunch on Saturday.  Space is limited, so reserve your spot now!

Vivian in Red Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781943818167
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Polis Books - September 13th, 2016

Real Life & Liars Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780061706288
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 16th, 2009

The Life You've Imagined: A Novel Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780061706295
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 17th, 2010

Things We Didn't Say: A Novel Cover Image
This is a non-traditional title. Please email or call us for price.
ISBN: 9780062003041
Availability: Special Order, We Will Need to Check Availablility
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 28th, 2011

Staff Pick Logo
The Whole Golden World: A Novel Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062206459
Availability: Backordered
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - November 5th, 2013

Hope Out Loud Cover Image
This is a non-traditional title. Please email or call us for price.
ISBN: 9781620511817
Availability: Special Order, We Will Need to Check Availablility
Published: Nla Digital LLC - June 30th, 2015