Staff Pick Badge
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena Cover Image
This is a non-traditional title. Please email or call us for price.
Special Order, We Will Need to Check Availablility

Staff Reviews


This is a beautifully constructed, haunting book in the vein of The Kite Runner or Cutting for Stone that pulls you into the lives of people half a world away and opens your eyes to a reality so utterly foreign that you are forced to take notice.

In war-torn Chechnya, 8 year old Havaa watches her Dad getting dragged off by Russian soldiers, and her neighbor Akmed, driven by complicated motives, takes Havaa to the hospital in a neighboring town where Sonja, returned from Westernized life in London, minds her patients as she heals herself.  A must-read!

— Jill

May 2013 Indie Next List


“In A CONSTELLATION OF VITAL PHENOMENA, Anthony Marra expertly balances the pain and suffering inflicted during the Chechen conflict with exquisite moments of loyalty, sacrifice, humility and enduring love. Marra intricately connects the lives of eight unforgettable characters in wholly unexpected ways, slowly revealing their collective past, present and future. But as their breathtaking stories compel you forward, slow down and savor the vivid imagery and lyrical prose on each and every page. Aptly named, Marra's debut is indeed phenomenal.”
— Anderson McKean, Page & Palette, Fairhope, AL

Product Details
ISBN: 9789571360232
ISBN-10: 9571360236
Publisher: Tsai Fong Books
Publication Date: July 28th, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: Chinese