Staff Pick Badge
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena Cover Image
$16.99
May be available in-store. Is in stock in our warehouse for ordering.

Staff Reviews


This is a beautifully constructed, haunting book in the vein of The Kite Runner or Cutting for Stone that pulls you into the lives of people half a world away and opens your eyes to a reality so utterly foreign that you are forced to take notice.

In war-torn Chechnya, 8 year old Havaa watches her Dad getting dragged off by Russian soldiers, and her neighbor Akmed, driven by complicated motives, takes Havaa to the hospital in a neighboring town where Sonja, returned from Westernized life in London, minds her patients as she heals herself.  A must-read!

— Jill

May 2013 Indie Next List


“In A CONSTELLATION OF VITAL PHENOMENA, Anthony Marra expertly balances the pain and suffering inflicted during the Chechen conflict with exquisite moments of loyalty, sacrifice, humility and enduring love. Marra intricately connects the lives of eight unforgettable characters in wholly unexpected ways, slowly revealing their collective past, present and future. But as their breathtaking stories compel you forward, slow down and savor the vivid imagery and lyrical prose on each and every page. Aptly named, Marra's debut is indeed phenomenal.”
— Anderson McKean, Page & Palette, Fairhope, AL

Description


Stegner Fellow, Iowa MFA, and winner of the" Atlantic"'s emerging writer contest, Anthony Marra has written a brilliant debut novel that brings to life an abandoned hospital where a tough-minded doctor decides to harbour a hunted young girl, with powerful consequences.
In the final days of December 2004, in a small rural village in Chechnya, 8-year-old Havaa hides in the woods when her father is abducted by Russian forces. Fearing for her life, she flees with their neighbour Akhmed to the bombed-out hospital, where Sonya, the one remaining doctor, treats a steady stream of wounded rebels and refugees. Over the course of 5 dramatic days, Akhmed and Sonya reach back into their pasts to unravel the intricate mystery of coincidence, betrayal and forgiveness that unexpectedly binds them and decides their fate.
With "The English Patient"'s dramatic sweep and "The Tiger's Wife"'s expert sense of place, Marra gives us a searing debut about the transcendent power of love in wartime, and how it can cause us to become greater than we ever thought possible.

About the Author


ANTHONY MARRA is currently a Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, with an MFA from the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop. He's won a Pushcart Prize, the Whiting Writers' Award, the Prairie Lights Fiction Prize and first place in the" Atlantic"'s emerging writers' contest and in "Narrative"'s short story contest.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781594136863
ISBN-10: 1594136866
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Large Print Press
Publication Date: March 4th, 2014
Pages: 603
Language: English