The Child on Platform One Cover Image
$12.99
In stock in our warehouse.

Description


Inspired by the real-life escape of thousands of Jewish children from Nazi-occupied Europe on the Kindertransport trains to London.

Prague 1939. Young mother Eva has a secret from her past. When the Nazis invade, Eva knows the only way to keep her daughter Miriam safe is to send her away - even if it means never seeing her again. But when Eva is taken to a concentration camp, her secret is at risk of being exposed.

In London, Pamela volunteers to help find places for the Jewish children arrived from Europe. Befriending one unclaimed little girl, Pamela brings her home. It is only when her young son enlists in the RAF that Pamela realizes how easily her own world could come crashing down.

For readers of Heather Morris's The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Edith Eger's The Choice and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls.

About the Author


Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her debut novel, The Oceans Between Us, was a No. 1 digital bestseller and has been highly acclaimed. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

Praise For…


Praise for Gill Thompson's The Oceans Between Us

"A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit"—Kathryn Hughes, author of The Key and The Letter


"A heartrending story"—Jane Corry


"Gill Thompson has brought us a a beautiful tale of a mother's love
whilst also tackling a very dark and awful period in British and
Australian history. A wonderful book. Full of emotion, heart, joy and
sorrow"—Emma's Bookish Corner


"A heart-wrenching debut novel. A story based on actual events which will
have you glued to the pages. I was unable to put the book down.
Outstanding"—Waggy Tales Blog


"A story that will touch every reader's heart"—By The Letter Book Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781472258014
ISBN-10: 1472258010
Publisher: Headline
Publication Date: September 1st, 2020
Pages: 432