Darcie

Our Media Mail Shipping is Just $1.99 - One Book or One Hundred!

Darcie, who grew up working with us, has returned to Gaylord to work at OMH.

But once a bookseller, always a bookseller, so look for her smiling face around Saturn on weekends.

< Maryann   Julia >

 


 

The Marsh King's Daughter Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735213005
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 13th, 2017

Helena is a young mother in the Upper Peninsula, living a quiet life with her husband and two daughters when a breaking news alert rocks her world - a prisoner has escaped and is on the loose in the wilderness close to her house. For Helena, the threat of an escaped murderer and kidnapper hits close to home - especially this criminal, because he’s Helena’s father, and his original crime was kidnapping her mother at the age of 14.  

Helena knows the way her father thinks. She also realizes that she is the only one who can capture him and bring him to justice, already one step ahead of the police, grappling with her love for the man who raised her and the truth about what he really is.

The book jumps back and forth between Helena’s upbringing on the secluded marsh, naive to the fact that her mother is a prisoner and her life is anything but normal, and to Helena’s exhilarating present-day hunt to capture the man who taught her everything she knows.


The Assistants Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399185175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 2nd, 2017

Student loan debt is a common struggle felt amongst most twenty-somethings. For Tina Fontana, one teeny tiny mix-up at work is the answer to wiping away her debt and relieving the stress of living in New York City on her assistant salary. Tina knows what she did was wrong, but she also knows her boss is mega rich and he wouldn’t think twice about spending that kind of money on a fancy car, so why not put it to good use?

But another assistant finds out what Tina did, and before she knows what’s happened, she’s tangled up in a network of assistants all helping each other pay off their debts on the company dime. All good things must come to an end though, and Tina’s one teeny tiny mix-up now seems not so teeny tiny…

This book was fun and light, and relatable in all the right ways.


Milk and Honey Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781449474256
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - October 6th, 2015

Milk and Honey has spent 66 weeks on the New York Times Bestseller list, and we’ve sold over 30 copies at Saturn. I thought that was enough reason to pick up a copy and read Rupi Kaur’s words for myself.

The 208 pages in this book are heavy and filled with deep, emotional poems telling a story about life and the all-too-common struggles many people go through. I read about 50 pages in one short sitting and had to take a break. This book is a quick read but it’s best to read it in small doses because of the content.

Kaur has a way with words and a way of portraying the aching feelings of heartbreak and self-doubt with beauty. Now I know why this is a bestseller…


Marlena Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781627797641
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - April 4th, 2017

Marlena is a wildcard. She is tough, spontaneous, and lives her life dangerously on the edge. For Cat, Marlena is the perfect new friend for her new life in northern Michigan. Until Marlena lives her life a bit too dangerously and is found dead in the woods in a part of town where she had no reason to be.

Cat tells this story of her tumultuous and short-lived friendship as an adult living a responsible life in New York City. But when Marlena’s brother contacts Cat, ghosts from her past start to invade her present-day life.    

Julie Buntin’s novel about friendship, hardship, and life in small-town northern Michigan is captivating. Buntin will be here for a signing and discussion on Tuesday, July 18th. Click here for more info.  


Staff Pick Logo
The Light We Lost Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780735212756
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - May 9th, 2017

This is a book about life and love, and the choices we make that lead us down certain paths in life.

Lucy, our narrator, tells us the story of her first great love - a passionate and deep connection that ended too quickly after just 14 months. But for Lucy, this love ends up affecting her life for the next ten years. Each time she’s at a crossroads, she thinks of the ‘what ifs’ of her past relationship. Lucy’s story makes the reader question whether or not it is our choices that lead us to our destiny, or is it fate in control? Does it matter what we choose, or will the outcome remain the same?  

The Light We Lost was so well-written, layered with symbolism and thought-provoking storylines. It would be a wonderful choice for a book club or for any bibliophile who is looking for the next read that will make them think a bit deeper about their own life. Stop in to pick up this book and then come back to chat with me about it!  


The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781492649359
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks - April 18th, 2017

The Radium Girls tells the forgotten true story of the women who worked in watch factories in the early twentieth century, using radium to paint glowing numbers on watch faces. At the time, radium was hailed as a cure-all with physicians touting its numerous health benefits and big companies jumping at the chance to incorporate it into everyday American life.

When these women, dubbed the ‘glowing girls’ for quite literally glowing because of how much radium was on their skin and clothes, started suffering from horrifying and debilitating illnesses and maladies, their doctors did not conclude that radium was the culprit for quite some time. What followed was years of suffering and death before the first all-women class-action lawsuit occurred.

The Radium Girls is an important story to read and discuss. Author Kate Moore will be visiting Saturn this Thursday, May 25th for a discussion and signing of her book. Click here for more information and to purchase tickets for this event.  


The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812996937
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House - March 14th, 2017

Ariel Levy has made a career out of reporting stories from all over the globe, but some of her best writing is in her memoir, The Rules Do Not Apply. Levy crafts sentences that are so poetic and beautiful, I found myself re-reading them just so I could savor the words.

Her story starts out happy and typical. She is working in the field she loves, she has a great relationship and, after the pressures of society and her social groups, she gets married. Soon, they are expecting their first child. But all of that is backstory. What Levy goes through, the subsequent heartbreak and loss of her future, is the real meat of her book. Levy thought she had everything she could ever want, and it was quickly taken from her. Her memoir is about rebuilding her life and redefining happiness, and it serves as a reminder to be thankful for the ups and downs life brings.


Windy City Blues Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781101991121
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - February 28th, 2017

Windy City Blues tells the true story of Chess Records and the birth of the blues and rock and roll in Chicago. It also tells the fictional stories of Leeba Groski, a Polish immigrant who feels like an outsider even after being in America since she was a child, and Red Dupree, a musician from the deep south who is awestruck by the opportunity in the city.

Leeba and Red connect through their shared love of the blues and start a romantic relationship despite the hardships they face as an interracial couple. The book follows Red’s fictional music career and the very real careers of the greats, like Muddy Waters and Chuck Berry, as they navigate the changing sounds of music in America during the dawn of the civil rights era.

This book was interesting to read because of its depictions of true events and important players in the civil rights movement and the music industry in the early 50s. But it was also eye-opening to read about the struggles that Leeba and Red faced and the realization that their experiences ring true for many people in our country even today.


We Should All Be Feminists Cover Image
$7.95
ISBN: 9781101911761
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - February 3rd, 2015

Adapted from her 2012 TEDx talk, author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie explores a more modern definition of feminism in We Should All Be Feminists. She weaves her own experiences with ideologies and narratives of other marginalized groups and people without a voice in society. Adichie addresses issues of inequality and tasks the reader with committing to doing better when it comes to inclusion and empathy. Everyone should read this pocket guide to feminism.  


Before I Go to Sleep Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062060563
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - February 7th, 2012

Christine wakes up in an unfamiliar room next to a man she doesn’t know. Confused and slightly afraid, she slowly realizes that she’s in her own home next to her husband of 20 years, and she simply doesn’t remember these facts about her own life. In fact, she doesn’t remember anything.

Suffering from amnesia after an injury 17 years earlier, Christine wakes up each day with a clean slate and no memories from before the accident. She’s forced to trust what her husband tells her about who she is and what her life is like.

Then Christine finds her journal, and then she finds out that even though she might not remember who she is, she’s been writing down her story and leaving herself clues to piece together her life in her own words. But can she really trust her own words? Can she trust anyone’s account of what happened to her?

Fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train will love this psychological thriller with an unreliable narrator and twists and turns that will keep you guessing.


Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780425285176
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ballantine Books - November 29th, 2016

Lauren Graham’s new memoir, Talking as Fast as I Can, is the perfect mix of funny anecdotes and encouraging advice. The book is a quick read, only about 209 pages, but it delves into the important parts about the actress and her most memorable roles. Lauren’s voice is ever-present while reading, and I found myself devouring the book and her quirky tales of life on set. Pick up your copy at Saturn, and start reading as fast as you can!