Jill

Our Media Mail Shipping is Just $1.99 - One Book or One Hundred!

"Nothing makes me happier than finding that little-known or first-time author who really deserves to make it, and selling a boatload of their books -well, that and putting just the right books into each customer's hands.."   jill

Karin >

 

 
$15.00
ISBN: 9780451466716
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New American Library - November 4th, 2014

“Give the lady what she wants,” was a famous saying of Marshall Field, the merchant prince of Chicago.  Renee Rosen’s novel, What the Lady Wants is the fictional account of privileged Delia Spencer and her 30-odd year love affair with the man who was a driving force behind Chicago’s development as a world-class city.

Beginning in 1871 with the Great Chicago Fire and ending 35 years later, What the Lady Wants spans three incarnations of the famed Marshall Field department store, the Chicago World Fair, and the development of the lakefront and the northern suburbs.   


$25.99
ISBN: 9781250052650
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - April 7th, 2015

Tonya Byron is a well-known British TV personality and clinical psychologist.

This book follows five of the most memorable cases she encountered during her training.

This memoir reads like a psychological thriller, delving into minds so unrelatable you’d think they could only be fictional characters.

Told in Tanya’s first person voice, we see her mature from a timid trainee into a counselor ready to confront the demons of her own family’s history.


$26.99
ISBN: 9781476793740
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner Book Company - June 2nd, 2015

Jason Mathew’s first thriller, Red Sparrow, became one of my permanent staff pics for its Machiavellian plotting and cold war epic feeling.

Palace of Treason also stars Russian sparrow double agent Dominika and her CIA handler and counterpart Nate.  As Dominika rises through the ranks of the Russian Intelligence Service, she is increasingly in danger both by those who suspect her and those who seek to advance their own careers and are jealous of her.

Palace of Treason races from Iran’s nuclear arms facilities to a traitor among the CIA ranks to President Putin’s quest for power and money.  Fantastic read for fans of Ludlum, Forsyth, and the like.


$15.95
SKU: 9780578136851

In Stander’s best Ray Elkins mystery yet, the Cedar County sheriff is called to a murder scene in the dead of night at a local vineyard.

The victim turns out to be a visiting wine expert whose pithy website was a popular one among young professionals looking for advice about good vintages.

When the expert’s step brother becomes the next victim, Ray and Deputy Sue are stumped as to the motive behind the crimes.

Full of familiar Northern Michigan settings and a focus on the regions quickly growing reputation as a prime wine producing area, Murder in the Merlot will satisfy Stander’s many fans.


$26.99
ISBN: 9780062060587
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper - June 9th, 2015

I really liked SJ Watson’s smart first thriller, Before I go to Sleep, which was made into a movie starring Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth.  So I was also excited to check out Second Life.  I have mixed feelings about this one.

Julia’s sister, Kate, has been murdered, bringing out all sorts of repressed guilt about Julia’s having left her little sister as soon as she saw a way out of their miserable household.  Now she has to find a way to explain to Kate’s son, Connor, who Julia and Hugh are raising, what’s happened to his mother.

But Julia can’t rest until she actually knows who the murderer is and why he took her sister’s life.  And that desire leads her to much darker ones.  Her search leads her to internet chat sites in pursuit of the kind of men Kate found interesting.  And one looks very interesting indeed.  So Julia uses herself as bait to lure her suspect into the open, and in the process disappears down a rabbit’s hole of lust, intrigue, and deception.

I thought this book bogged down on the lust bit in the middle, and didn’t really find its way out until the twisty ending.  But the surmises at the end left me satisfied with the novel as a thriller.

Lots of you loved Before I go to Sleep, so I’ll be anxious to hear what you think about Second Life


$23.99
ISBN: 9781250039835
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas Dunne Books - May 5th, 2015

When Nickolas Butler visited Saturn last year he talked about his next book, which would be short stories he wrote during and after his time at the venerable Iowa Writer’s Workshop.

Beneath the Bonfire is that book.  These are stories of the upper-Midwest: of flue collar workers and farmers and people living off of the land.  They are stories of misfortunes and misdeeds, of love and loss.  But what they all share is the fluid, compelling writings that we came to love in Butler’s Shotgun Lovesongs.

Butler just has a way of drawing out emotion and evoking an atmosphere that puts you right there in the character’s heads and alongside them with a six pack.

The beauty of short stories is often that you can pick them up and put them down so quickly, but not so with Nickolas Butler – you just want to keep reading because he’s just that gifted.


$26.95
ISBN: 9780307271037
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - March 3rd, 2015

Ishiguro, world renowned for Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go and his fifty other highly decorated novels, breaks new territory with Buried Giant.

The book, which is set in a Britain peopled with pixies, ogres, and dragons, follows the journey of an elderly couple as they travel to a neighboring village to visit their son.

Along the way they befriend warriors with different agendas, and various other seemingly innocent people.

The book reads almost like a fairy tale, but as it unfolds you realize that almost every element is a metaphor for something else, and the story itself is a journey through memories lost and a tale of love and vengeance.

We are clearly in the hands of a master storyteller as we enjoy The Buried Giant on different levels.  Fans and readers new to Ishiguro will be mesmerized.


$25.99
ISBN: 9780061670893
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - March 24th, 2015

I knew I’d like this novel because I always enjoy Marisa’s books.  She does ‘women’s fiction’ in such an intelligent way and her characters have a way of having a tenacious hold on my imagination.

The Precious One is the story of Willow, a shattered, naïve, and, until recently, homeschooled 16-year-old who is most beloved by her posturing, intellectual father, Wilson.

And it’s the story of Taisy, Wilson’s estranged other daughter form the first marriage he abandoned, who never felt like her father’s precious one at all.

It’s a novel about the family you’re born into and the family you choose and all of the pain and the joy that can come from loving them both relentlessly.  


$29.99
ISBN: 9781501214325
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Brilliance Audio - February 24th, 2015

Mac McClelland is a brave, risk-taking, and award winning journalist who has reported from every corner of the US and around the globe – from Thailand, Haiti, Australia, Burma, Uganda, and Turkey to the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Bhutan.  She’s appeared on major national and international media outlets such as C-Span, MSNBC, PBS, NPR, Al Jazeera, Democracy Now, the BBC, CBC, and Deutsche Welle.  She has been witness to unimaginable atrocities, and now she suffers from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder.  Mightily.

In her new memoir, Irritable Hearts: A PTSD Love Story, Mac tells us her story with incredible clarity, honesty, and insight.  It’s a horror story told with a wry sense of humor.  It’s a love story written from the rawest places of the heart.  It’s a seeker’s journey through unplumbed depths of the psyche.  It’s a case study; a call to arms for research and understanding; an honest account for fellow sufferers who feel isolated and alone; and the determined manifesto of a soul unwilling to surrender.

I feel privileged for this inside glimpse into the pain man people live with every day and not many people acknowledge, much less endeavor to understand, and I closed this book feeling like a more humble, compassionate person for having read it.  That’s a tall order for one volume, which speaks volumes for the book itself.

Read Irritable Hearts.  It will do wonders for your own.


By Herman Koch, Sam Garrett (Translator)
$14.00
ISBN: 9780385346856
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hogarth - October 29th, 2013

This book was Saturn’s Book of the Month selection, and it was fun to hear everyone’s comments.

The dinner is told in the five ‘courses’ of a five course dinner and narrated by Paul as her and his wife, Claire, have dinner in a fancy restaurant in the Netherlands with his funning-for-prime-minister brother Serge and his wife. 

At first you think Paul is merely cranky, complaining about the restaurant, the company, ect, but slowly you get to see that it’s all a little more sinister than that and that Paul is narrating as though any normal person would share all of his opinions and that he’s a sympathetic character, while you as a reader stay to get a handle on the underlying story and become increasingly repulsed.

This book is a best-seller around the world and I can see why it’s one everyone wants to discuss – come get your copy and let’s talk!