Jill

Our Media Mail Shipping is Just $1.99 - One Book or One Hundred!

"Nothing makes me happier than finding that little-known or first-time author who really deserves to make it, and selling a boatload of their books -well, that and putting just the right books into each customer's hands.."   jill

Karin >

 

 
$25.00
ISBN: 9781476778068
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - March 17th, 2015

This is the first of Rose’s books I’ve read, and I’m glad I did.

Set in Paris at the end of the 1800s, The Witch of Painted Sorrows tells the story of a young American socialite who flees her husband in New York and takes refuge in her grandmother’s house in Paris.

But the house is no ordinary house, and her grandmother is the current in a long line of famous courtesans, and her salon was a prominent feature of the Parisian social scene. Mysteriously, however, Sandrine’s grandmother has moved from the famous La Lune mansion into rented quarters.

When Sandrine stops by to see the old house, she is mesmerized first by the young architect who has been commissioned to transform it into a museum celebrating the art of love, and then by an irresistible force that seems to overcome and inhabit her. One that knows the story of the buildings’ past generations because she had always been there - the 300-year-old spirit of La Lune herself.

As Sandrine becomes immersed in the bohemian world of Paris and explores its forbidden occult scene, she becomes possessed by a witch, a legend, and a life that she can’t escape - be it gift or dark curse.

This book is based on life as it existed in 1890s Paris - and is as evocative, sensual and libertine as we’ve always read. Beautiful, erotic and dark, The Witch of Painted Sorrows was a good surprise indeed.


$25.99
ISBN: 9781250067845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 19th, 2016

When Evan Smoak was a young boy, he was plucked from the foster care system and turned into a fierce weapon for the government. When he decided to get out, he became the “Nowhere Man” - a number to call when your problems were unsolvable and you have nowhere to turn.

But now someone who knows of his past is using his good works to target him, and the stakes are deadly.

This is the beginning of a new action series by Hurwitz, and Orphan X is a great debut. Fans of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher or Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp will love Evan Smoak and Orphan X. Let the action begin!


$15.95
ISBN: 9781503945043
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Thomas & Mercer - September 15th, 2015

Amelia wakes up in a hospital room with no memory. And when pieces slowly return to her, they are terrifying. So she yanks out her IV and bolts.

Her husband is mystified and he joins the ranks of the people trying to find Amelia for their own reasons. Not knowing whom to trust or where to go, Amelia sets out to outrun a past that she can barely imagine.

PJ Parrish is, of course, the bestselling writing duo of Kelly Nichols and and Kristy Montee - sisters who’ve visited Saturn many times, describing their unique sister partnership.

She’s Not There is not one of Parrish’s Louis Kincaid mysteries, but a new venture which the authors self-published. Their fans will be delighted, however, with their signature mystery style and page-turning writing.


$26.00
ISBN: 9780316309677
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hachette Books - January 5th, 2016

When a plane from Istanbul to Paris crashes in the Alps, miraculously there is one survivor - a baby girl.

But there were two baby girls on the plane, and two families desperate to believe that she is theirs.

An investigator spends 18 years tracing every clue, and on the eve of Emilie’s 18th birthday, he finally figures it out. And his murdered corpse is found the next day.

Full of strange characters and odd contradictions, After the Crash is already a huge bestseller in Europe and is set to become one in the U.S.


$26.95
ISBN: 9780399171451
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Blue Rider Press - September 1st, 2015

We’ve all heard of Stephen Dobyns - he’s written more than 35 novels and poetry collections and won a grocery list of honors for them. But somehow I’d never read him - until now.

Is Fat Bob Dead Yet? is a comic-suspense novel about two warring detectives, a two-bit con operation and some actual bad guys. It’s laugh-out-loud preposterous like Tim Dorsey or Elmore Leonard, and frightfully literate all at the same time.

Absurd, witty, smart and impossible to put down, Is Fat Bob Dead Yet? was a marvelous introduction to the creative genius of Stephen Dobyns.


$25.99
ISBN: 9780062388261
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - August 4th, 2015

All of Sophie Hannah’s mysteries are great puzzles filled with dark characters. But I don’t remember a first person narrator in any of her other books who struck me in such a pathetic, twisted way as Nicki Clements, a hapless pathological liar whose (maybe) lover has been found murdered in a most bizarre way just minutes between her house and her children’s school.

But Damon was no ordinary lover - or ordinary man. He was an influentially caustic journalist who ruined lives with his relentless disparaging. So the list of those who might have wanted to kill him is long, and leads the intrepid Simon Waterhouse and his fellow investigators down several rabbit holes.

One of the things I really like about Hannah’s mysteries is the fact that the recurring characters - the entire police squad at Rawndesley - are somewhat incidental to the story, and yet their personalities and personal storylines continue to evolve in each book. That goes a long way toward each book, like Woman with a Secret, being a fine place to start if you’ve never yet been confounded by one of my favorites - Sophie Hannah.


$15.00
ISBN: 9780451474971
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: New American Library - November 3rd, 2015

When Renee visited Saturn for her last book, What the Lady Wants, she gave us a preview of White Collar Girl, and this novel lives up to the billing.

Jordan Walsh is a journalist in Chicago in 1955, following in the footsteps of her parents and brother, but the male journalists at the Tribune have no interest in making way for a female on their turf.

Like What the Lady Wants, which was based on an actual character, Marshall Field, White Collar Girl uses actual events of the ‘50s - from scandal from the Daley administration to the triumph of the White Sox - to inform the plot.

Interesting, familiar and a little bit of mystery, White Collar Girl will delight Rosen’s fans and surely gain her many more.


$27.99
ISBN: 9780062286833
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow & Company - June 16th, 2015

This is Wolf’s third Jeremy Fisk thriller, and it’s a doozy.

A leaker releases sensitive documents from Fisk’s NYPD Intelligence Division, and all of a sudden Fisk’s home address is public and assassins are launched to take him out.

But also launched are a series of commercially-available drones - which randomly execute civilians on the New York streets. The drone-commander’s ultimatum? Release the leaker from prison.

It all sounds bizarrely high-tech and sci-fi, but scarily is a plausible storyline.

Law and Order creator, Chicago P.D. and Chicago Fire producer, Wolf gives us an edge-of-your-seat read, and another good reason to keep Amazon from pursuing their drone dreams…


$17.95
ISBN: 9781467545310
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ampersand, Inc. - June 30th, 2014

Pete Thorsen is back in the 4th Frankfort, MI-based mystery by Robert Wangard.

When a local author is shot during a Civil War reenactment, Pete’s not the only one to suspect foul play. And true to form, he gets involved investigating the incident despite the good advice of others.

It’s always fun to read a book set in the region - Wangard’s characters visit Cadillac and Traverse City on a regular basis, and head down I-75 from time to time.

 


$25.00
ISBN: 9780525429142
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 28th, 2015

What a surprising treat! It took me a few sections of this book to realize the thread that connected all the many storylines was Eva Thorvald - a food prodigy from infanthood.

I always tell readers that this book is Garrison Keillor meets Nickolas Butler, but a little raunchier.

Author J. Ryan Stradal has crafted a different, literate and wholly satisfying read that’s gaining lots of word of mouth traction.


$25.99
ISBN: 9781492617891
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - September 15th, 2015

I loved the premise of this historical novel: a socialite Harvard man has a gambling problem in the late 1880s in New York. In order to save his son’s life, John Cross, a noted architect, agrees to help the mobster boss to whom George owes a lifetime’s fortune by divulging where his clients have their jewels and valuables hidden - and he knows, both because he’s invited to their houses for grand social occasions, and because he drew up the plans for their mansions - safes and all.

And even as John is drawn into the underworld of New York’s society, all three of his children have, in their way, rebelled and started experiencing society’s underbelly as well.

It’s a wild ride - from the homeless newsies to vast Newport summer houses to the crown of the Statue of Liberty, House of Thieves is a compelling read.


$27.95
ISBN: 9781594634475
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Riverhead Books - September 15th, 2015

Told in two parts (The Fates and The Furies), Groff’s latest novel falls squarely into the ‘literary fiction’ category.

In The Fates, 22-year-olds Lotto and Mathilde fall madly in love, are married just after college graduation, and go on to lead a NYC existence that, while plagued by poverty, is the envy of all of their friends.  They are the golden couple, and no one is surprised when Lotto finds success as a playwright and their future is secured.  There are just the tiniest hints that maybe underneath, all may not be as bright and shiny as it appears on the surface.

Then comes part 2 – The Furies – and backstory comes out in unexpected revelations, changing the tale and everyone in its relationships to each other.

This is a masterfully crafted, interestingly told novel with lots of allusions to classic literature and mythology.  Unexpected – in a deliberately literary way.