Mel

You might not see Mel as often (she works in the back checking in all of the books), but if you like mysteries and horror and books for 3rd-8th graders, you'll like her reviews...

<Jody  Rebecca>


By Diane Fox, Christyan Fox (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545694810
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - August 26th, 2014

This is a cute picture book about a cat who's trying to read Little Red Riding Hood to her dog friend. The dog doesn't seem to like how the story is going so he asks if it can be a little different, until finally the cat has had enough.


$12.99
ISBN: 9780385388702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - June 10th, 2014

Since it is the time of year to get back to school again, I decided to review something along those lines.  This is a book with 6 different stories in one.  They are all about going to school, from stories about homework hassle to getting bullied.  I always loved The Berenstain Bears.  They have a great story along with a lesson learned in each book.  This book is great for any young reader who is heading into the school year.


$17.99
ISBN: 9780547959214
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harcourt Brace and Company - June 17th, 2014

In the final book of the Testing series, Cia Vale is up against a timeline. Do as the president has asked or have her friends from home continue into the testing. Cia is determined to stop the testing from happening, but there will be serious consequences to make that happen. 

 

Find out for yourself what Cia will choose and who among her friends will survive.


$27.00
ISBN: 9780345547491
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - June 24th, 2014

This is a standalone title about a rookie cop who is trying to find her place in a male dominated world in the 1970s. Kate Murphy's first day on the job happens to be the same day as someone kills another cop. When Kate is paired with Maggie Lawson, they both work to catch the killer but being heard by the men on the force is harder than it looks. Maggie's uncle is one of the worst, he always has something demeaning to say and believes that women should not be allowed on the force. Both Maggie and Kate have something to prove and they refuse to back down.

 

I loved this book! I thought I had it all figured out but the twist really threw me for a loop.


$25.99
ISBN: 9781250034601
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 17th, 2014

Toni is getting out of prison after having spent 17 years behind bars for the murder of her little sister. She and her boyfriend Ryan were both convicted of this horrible crime, but once they are out, they realize that life will never be the same. Someone is trying to get them sent back. Toni soon discovers that she needs to take charge and find out who is behind it all before she is sent back to prison for good.


$9.95
ISBN: 9781782210160
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Search Press(UK) - August 12th, 2014

This is a great summertime activity for girls. There are 20 different bracelets featured using everything from nylon cord to leather cord. You can use any kind of charm or bead you would like.


$17.99
ISBN: 9780547959207
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harcourt Brace and Company - January 7th, 2014

This is the 2nd book in The Testing trilogy.

 

Cia Vale thought the hard part was over once she made it to the University. Oh, how wrong she was. The danger seems to lurk everywhere, and now that she is  aware of what is truly going on, she knows what to look for. But it seems Dr. Barnes is setting her up to fail. How can she make it out of there alive if they are just looking for an excuse to "Redirect" her.

 

The 3rd book is coming out later this month. This would be a great series for anyone who loves The Hunger Games.

 


$15.00
ISBN: 9781476759548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - December 10th, 2013

Fans of Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster finally get all their questions answered in this sequel. This novella follows Travis and Abby on their wedding day and night, giving you all the juicy details of the top-secret elopement. 

 

How far will Abby go to protect the man she loves?


$24.00
ISBN: 9781426213144
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: National Geographic Society - March 4th, 2014

This book is truly breathtaking. Beautiful pictures adorn the pages where you can fill in information, from family history to what you learned from childhood. From the moment you see the cover, you will fall in love with the mommy penguin and her little one. 
 
I cannot wait to give this as a gift for the next child I know about to come into the world.


$16.99
ISBN: 9781442458451
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - September 3rd, 2013

This is the 3rd in a series of children's intermediate books. 
 
Young Alex doesn't have a choice in becoming the leader of Artime' now that Mr. Today has died. The death of Mr. Today has turned Artime' back into a desolate desert, and now the people who are left are starving. Alex must find a way to bring Artime' back to its former glory, while his twin brother Aaron prepares Quill to take over Artime'. While Alex struggles with getting Artime' back to normal, in the back of his mind he's also concerned about his two friends who are trapped on Warbler Island.
 
You will have to read this series to find out what will happen to Alex, Aaron and his friends. 


By Leslie Helakoski, Lee Harper (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060847265
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins Publishers - January 2nd, 2008

Woolbur is an adorable story about a little sheep who does not like to do everything like everyone else. His parents and grandparents fuss and fret that he will be different. Then his parents sit him down and tell him he has to do things like the other little sheep, but Woolbur has an idea to get everyone to follow him instead. 

The illustrations are so cute, who wouldn't just fall in love with Woolbur?


$6.99
ISBN: 9780545284165
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - January 28th, 2014

Now that Sage is king, life is not all about the royal treatment. Almost as soon as he is crowned, there is an assassination attempt, the court wants Sage to go into hiding and a steward will take his place until he is of age. Sage knows that the only way to avoid living in fear of another attempt on his life is to get rid of the pirates himself. As Sage runs off to find the pirate king, he realizes that the danger is not only from them, but from inside his own castle. 
 
This is the second book in The Ascendance Trilogy.


By Lee Cohen, Julia Harnett Harvey (Illustrator), Susan Yost-Filgate (Created by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781934960134
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Raven Tree Press - September 23rd, 2008

This is a beautifully illustrated picture book that takes place in an old bookstore. Rip Squeak takes his friends on a journey of imagination into the world of books. 
 
This is one of my favorite picture books. Not only is the story wonderfully written, but, the art is breathtaking.


$17.95
ISBN: 9781419704284
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Amulet Books - January 2013

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

Sixteen-year-old Alyssa Gardner is a descendant of Alice, who was the inspiration for Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa has had a troubled existence with her mother attacking her when she was young, and now with her mother in an asylum because she talks to flowers and bugs and will not eat anything unless it’s out of a teacup. Alyssa is worried that she will be just like her mother, until she finds out that Wonderland is quite real and she has the chance to right Alice's wrongs and bring her mother home. She will have to journey to Wonderland to do so, but when she gets there, it's not the Wonderland that she has read about in the books – it's a little more twisted. 
 
This is the first book in a series. I loved this book – once I started reading, I just could not put it down. I can't wait to get my hands on the next one this month!


$16.99
ISBN: 9780670785599
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking Children's Books - October 8th, 2013

This is the final book in the Wereworld series. Drew Ferran, the rightful king of Westland, must make his final stand against the Catlords and his best friend who they now call Blackhand. Drew is striving for a kingdom where everyone is free and treated as equals. With the help of those loyal to him, Drew’s long journey is finally nearing the end. Who will be left standing in the wake of it all? 
 
This is a fantastic series for anyone who loves fantasy, especially the older kids.


$15.00
ISBN: 9781476712048
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - August 14th, 2012

Abby arrives at college with plans to lead a quieter life. That is, until she meets an underground fighter named Travis Maddox. He is anything but quiet. Abby and Travis have a very volatile relationship, and  she must decide what she really wants, a quiet life or the love of her life.


$9.99
ISBN: 9781416978947
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon Pulse - August 3rd, 2010

Teenager Abby must deal with the loss of her best friend Kristen. She becomes withdrawn from everyone until she meets cute Caspian who she falls for. He is not all that he seems and neither are her new friends. Caspian leaves her feeling very confused and makes her question her own sanity.

This is the first in a series of young adult titles by Jessica Verday.