Mel

Our Media Mail Shipping is Just $1.99 - One Book or One Hundred!

You might not see Mel as often (she works in the back checking in all of the books), but if you like mysteries and horror and books for 3rd-8th graders, you'll like her reviews...

<Jody  Rebecca>


$9.99
ISBN: 9780544336230
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harcourt Brace and Company - January 6th, 2015

This is the first in a trilogy.  The story is set in a new – age world where most of America has been ravaged by war.  Cia is about to graduate and is hoping to be chosen for the Testing so she can go on to University.  When she becomes one of the chosen, her father pulls her aside and tells her about what he remembers, which isn't much considering his memories were wiped when he made it through.  As the Testing starts, Cia realizes some of the students will do anything to be one of the 20 who will move on to the University.  Cia must be smarter than the rest to make it. 

Anyone who loved the Hunger Games will love this book!


$7.99
ISBN: 9780374301866
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar Straus Giroux - December 23rd, 2014

This adorable little board book is about a monster who wants someone to love him.  Everyone loves rabbits and kittens, but who will love a hairy, googly-eyed monster?  He goes on a journey to find that someone, and you will never guess who he finds and where he finds them. 


$16.99
ISBN: 9781619634008
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - October 7th, 2014

Jack and his friends are orphaned kids who now call themselves the Urban Outlaws.  They perform random acts of kindness in the city of London, such as giving a single mother bags of groceries that she needs for her infant, or leaving money on someones doorstep.  When they stumble on a computer that can steal the worlds secrets they know that they have to stop it.  No one will ever be safe from the prying eyes of this super computer, but trying to stop the people behind this could cost them much more then they are willing to give up. 


$19.99
ISBN: 9780062332585
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins Publishers - October 7th, 2014

Twelve players, one for each ancient bloodline.  They have trained for centuries, knowledge passed down for generations, never knowing when the event will happen.  Now they must gather for the Calling, because Endgame has started. All players have to solve a puzzle that is just for them, which will lead to the first of three keys. Only one person is supposed to win to save their bloodline from extinction. Who will be the one?

This is the first in a new trilogy, where you not only follow along to the characters journey but you are able to play a real life game yourself with the prize being $500,000. All the clues are in the book as you read along. Can you figure it out?


$17.99
ISBN: 9781442493285
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - September 2nd, 2014

In this lastest installment Alex is finally starting to feel he is coming into his own as mage.  He and some of his unwanted friends set out to Shipwreck Island to rescue Sky and Crow's mother.  While in Quill, Aaron Stowe is determined to rid himself of his brother and the unwanteds once and for all and he may have stumbled on his solution while trying to flee back to Quill.


By Leslie Helakoski, Lee Harper (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780060847265
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins Publishers - January 2nd, 2008

Woolbur is an adorable story about a little sheep that does not like to do everything like everyone else.  His parents and grandparents fuss and fret that he will be different.  Then his parents sit him down and tell him he has to do things like the other little sheep but Woolbur has an idea to get everyone to follow him instead. 

The illustrations are so cute and who wouldn't just fall in love with Woolbur. 
 


$25.99
ISBN: 9781250034601
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 17th, 2014

Toni is getting out of prison after having spent 17 years behind bars for the murder of her little sister.  She and her boyfriend Ryan were both convicted of this horrible crime, and once they are out they realize that life will never be the same.  Someone is trying to get them sent back.  Toni soon discovers that she needs to take charge and find out who is behind it all before she is sent back to prison for good.


$15.00
ISBN: 9781476759548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - December 10th, 2013

Fans of Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster finally get all their questions answered in this sequel.  This novella follows Travis and Abby on their wedding day and night, giving you all the juicy details of the top secret elopement. 

How far will Abby go to protect the man she loves?


$9.95
ISBN: 9781782210160
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Search Press(UK) - August 2014

This is a great summer time activity for girls.  There are 20 different bracelets featured using everything from nylon cord to leather cord.  You can use any kind of charm or bead you would like.


$27.00
ISBN: 9780345547491
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - June 24th, 2014

This is a stand-alone title about rookie cop Kate Murphy who is trying to find her place in a male dominated world in the 1970's.  Her first day happens to be the day that someone kills another cop. When Kate is paired with Maggie Lawson they both work to catch the killer but just being heard by the men on the force is harder than it looks. Maggie's uncle is one of the worst, he always has something demeaning to say and believes that women should not be allowed on the force.  Both Maggie and Kate have something to prove and they refuse to back down.

I loved this book!  I thought I had it all figured out but the twist ending really threw me for a loop.